2024 CONVENTION PROGRAM

All events are in the Ronald J. Younge Gymnasium of the Sports and Fitness Center unless noted otherwise.

SYNOD SUNDAY, JUNE 16

4:00 Synod Sunday Service (*Trinity Chapel*) [Honor Choir]

Preacher: The Rev. David Thompson (Mankato, Minnesota) Liturgist: The Rev. Shawn Stafford (Janesville, Minnesota)

The offering has been designated toward bringing representatives from the Evangelical Lutheran

Diocese of Kenya (ELDK) to the 2025 convention.

5:00 Dinner (College Cafeteria) (free will donation)

3:00

3:30 - 5:00

7:15 - 9:00

Coffee (Honsey Hall)

Committee meetings continue

Committee meetings continue

Credentials/Roll Call will be gathered on Monday morning.

7:00 ELS Historical Society (Ylvisaker Fine Arts Center) *

MONDAY, JUNE 17 7:30-9:00Credential/Roll Call 9:00 Opening Devotion (Trinity Chapel) Chaplain: The Rev. Shawn Stafford (Janesville, Minnesota) 9:45 Organization of the Convention: Roll Call Report Credential Committee Report Official Opening of the Convention Dedication of the Rev. John Arthur Moldstad memorial cross President's Message and Report Adoption of the Convention Program Pastors' Equalization Rules Welcoming of Guests 10:30 Higher Education Presentation (Bethany Lutheran College) 11:30 Recess (lunch served in the cafeteria) 1:00 Scripture, Prayer & Hymn: The Rev. Shawn Stafford (Janesville, Minnesota) Anniversaries observed: Bethany Auxiliary sponsored Robert Otto—50 years Tea at the home of President & Darryl Bakke—40 years Thomas Fox—40 years Mrs. Pfeiffer * Daniel Larson—40 years Ken Mellon—40 years Steven Sparley—40 years Steven Brockdorf—25 years Paul Fries—25 years Cory Hahnke—25 years Young-Ha Kim—25 years Phillip Lepak—25 years Daniel McQuality—25 years Bernt Tweit—25 years 1:20 Credentials: Committee 3 1:25 Organization of the Convention (continued) Nominating ballot for the 2025 Committee on Nominations (printed ballot) Assignment of Committees Assignment of Work 2:00 Committee meetings (Honsey Hall) The official list of delegates attending committee meetings is gathered by the committee secretaries. Any alternate delegate name changes are to be reported at this time.

(Trinity Chapel) *

6:00

7:15 Cross-stich Presentation (Ylvisaker Fine Arts Center) *

Heritage of Hymns

TUESDAY, JUNE 18

8:00	Committee Meetings		
9:00	Opening Devotion (Trinity Chapel)		
	Preacher: The Rev. Peter Heyn (Green Bay, Wisconsin)		
9:40	Preliminaries:		
	Minutes: Committee 5		
	Credentials: Committee 3		
0.45	Program: Committee 4		
9:45	Synodical Membership & reception of new members: Committee 13		
10:00	Election of secretary (four year term) (Once balloting for an office has begun, the convention shall remain in session without interruption until the office has been filled—Convention Guidelines [§240] Article VIII)		
11:00	Higher Education: Committee 8		
11:15	Greetings and Presentations		
11:30	Recess (lunch served in the cafeteria)		
1:00	Scripture, Prayer & Hymn: The Rev. Abe Faugstad (Waukon, Iowa)		
1:05	Preliminaries: Credentials: Committee 3		
1.15	Program: Committee 4 Election of the 2025 Committee on Naminations [first minted hellet] †		
1:15 1:30	Election of the 2025 Committee on Nominations [first printed ballot] † Essay and Discussion: <i>Walk Circumspectly in the World God So Loves</i>		
1.50	Essayist: The Rev. James Braun (Brewster, Massachusetts)		
3:00	Coffee		
3:30	Doctrine Committee 6		
4:00	Greetings and Presentations		
4:15	Higher Education: Committee 8		
4:45	Recess for the Communion Service		
5:00	Communion/Memorial Service (Trinity Chapel)		
	Preacher: The Rev. Jonathan Madson (Sebring, Florida)		
	Liturgist: The Rev. Shawn Stafford (Janesville, Minnesota)		
	The offering has been designated toward bringing representatives from the Evangelical Lutheran		
	Diocese of Kenya (ELDK) to the 2025 convention.		
	Deaths noted:		
	Rebecca Jaech (1949–2023)		
	Ruth Reichwald (1939–2023)		

† Subsequent ballots for the 2024 Committee on Nominations will be brought forward as and when needed.

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 19

8:00	Opening Devotion (Trinity Chapel)		
Preacher: The Rev. Doyle Holbird (Mankato, Minnesota) 8:45 Preliminaries:			
0.43	Preliminaries: Minutes: Committee 5		
	Credentials: Committee 3		
	Program: Committee 4		
8:50	Elections: Committee 2		
9:30			
	Essayist: The Rev. James Braun (Brewster, Massachu		
11:00	Board for Lutheran School presentation		
11:15	Elementary Education: Committee 11		
11:30	Recess (lunch served in the cafeteria)		
1:00	1 / 2		
1:10	Preliminaries:		
1 15	Credentials: Committee 3		
	Program: Committee 4		
1:15 1:20	Greetings and Presentations Synodical Membership (written ballot: clergy roster): Committee 13		
1:25			
1:55	Home Outreach Committee 9		
2:15	Higher Education Presentation (Bethany Lutheran Theological Seminary)		
2:30			
3:00	Coffee		
3:30	Finances: Committee 7		
3:45	Elections: Committee 2	5:15 Honor Choir Recital	
	(Convention Guidelines §240 Article IX.B)	(Trinity Chapel) *	
4:15	Greetings and Presentations		
4:30	World Outreach Presentation	7.00 A 1 ti C f	
5:00	Recess	7:00 Apologetics Conference (Trinity Chapel) *	
		(Timiy empt)	
	THIDODAY HINE 20		
	THURSDAY, JUNE 20		
8:00	Scripture, Hymn & Prayer (Sports and Fitness Center)		
8:15	Preliminaries:		
	Minutes: Committee 5		
	Credentials: Committee 3 Program: Committee 4		
8:20	Parish Services Committee 12	10:30 Apologetics Conference	
8:30	President's Message and Report: Committee 1	(Trinity Chapel) *	
8:45	Miscellaneous Committee 14	(Timity Chaper)	
9:15	World Outreach: Committee 10		
9:45	Pastoral Conference Records & Resolutions: Committee 15 Excuses: Credentials Committee 3		
9:50			
10:00	Recess		
10:15	Unfinished Business		
	Adjournment		

Closing Hymn & Prayer (Chaplain)

^{*} These concurrent events are not an official part of the convention of the Evangelical Lutheran Synod.